Half & Half

Posted on Updated on

The soup salad combo has always been a favorite of mine. While I do not identify as a vegetarian anymore, my diet consists mostly of vegetables. With this being said, sometimes I want something hearty without eating a massive sandwich or a chicken breast. Plus, this is in line with my weekly goal to fatten my dad up!

So, tonight I cooked a hearty black bean soup with a citrus kale salad. Kale is my new favorite green. I had a kale salad at Olio,  St. Louis’ new best restaurant  where my brother works. I could not get over the texture of the salad! It was not the bitter, tough kale that I was accustomed to having, but rather this nicely textured earthy green.

After falling short of making the kale salad that I was looking for (the one from Olio), I finally found the trick online. You have to massage the kale leaves! More on that later though. Here are the recipes!

Hearty Black Bean Vegan Soup

*** Things to note before starting. Adding salt too early will increase cooking time. Adding baking soda will decrease cooking time, but be careful with how much you add! You might get a chemical taste. 

This started with me soaking 1.5 lbs. of black beans in water overnight.

I diced my onion, green and orange bell pepper, and green onion bulbs. Living and cooking in China taught me to never discard the bulbs of green onions. They hold the most flavor. My Chinese cooking mentor (aka Qiong Qiong–my colleague and friend in Liu He) would die if she saw them go unused.

the leg work

I added oil to my pot with the aromatic vegetables. After sauteing for 5 minutes  the vegetables were fragrant and onion translucent.

IMG_5382

Then, I added the soaked black beans, cumin, and chili powder.

IMG_5388

In went the 6 cups of vegetable broth!  When it came to a boil, I turned the  heat to low and simmered for 2.5 hours. It took me a lot longer than I thought it would.
******This time varies depending on how long you soak the beans, your stove, and your desired consistency.

IMG_5392

When my beans were cooked through enough to smash them, it was where I wanted it. I wanted a thicker soup, so I transferred a few ladles full of beans and smashed them in a bowl and transferred them back afterward.  I added the cilantro last and stirred.

IMG_5398

It was served warm with some fresh cilantro on top

IMG_5409

The goods:

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup of orange and green pepper
  • 1/4 cup of the white bottom of green onion
  • 1/4 chopped green onion
  • 2 tsp. cumin powder
  • 1.5 tsp. chili powder
  • 4 garlic cloves minced
  • 4 cups of already soaked and sorted black beans
  • 1/2 cup of chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp. of fresh thyme
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Let’s Do It

  1. Chop the onion, green onion bulb and stems, orange and green pepper.
  2. Heat pot, add olive oil, add all aromatic vegetables except green onion stems. Cook 5 minutes or until aromatic.
  3. Add garlic, remainder of green onion stems, cumin, chili powder, and soaked black beans.
  4. Add 6 cups of vegetable broth. Stir. Bring to a boil. Turn to low heat and simmer for 2.5 hours. This will differ depending on your stove, how long you soaked the beans, and your desired consistency.
  5. When beans are cooked enough to mash, remove a few ladles full and smash beans in a small bowl. Transfer back to pot and stir. This will thicken soup. Do this as much or as little as you want.
  6. Add 1/2 cup of cilantro to pot and stir.
  7. Add sea salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Eat and smile!

Citrus Kale Salad

I do not have many pictures for this one. When massaging the Kale, my hands, along with my towels, kept getting covered with green from the leaves. This was not conducive to using a camera. I will show you the final product though! This is my new favorite salad. The flavors blend perfectly together. Kale will be my green of choice for a while.

This is from a different website, but you can see the difference in the leaves before and after the massage.
This is from a different website, but you can see the difference in the leaves before and after the massage.
IMG_5413
Final product

The Goods:

  • a bunch of kale leaves
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
    **My brother just surprised me with high quality balsamic vinegar, and I don’t think I can go back. Try Masserie di Sant’eramo Balsamic Vinegar.
  • 2 tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 3 fresh basil leaves finely chopped
  • A dash or two of chili pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped cucumber
  • 1/3 cup of diced red onion
    **Red onion and Kale are a new favorite combination of mine.
  • 1/4 diced green pepper
  • 3 tbsp. of ground parmesan
  • salt and pepper to taste

Let’s do it

  1. Wash kale leaves. Massage them for 2 minutes in your hands. They should shrink in size by almost half. They will also become more fragrant. Pat them dry.
  2. Add olive oil, lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, garlic, sale, pepper, and basil leaves to bowl and stir. Let sit for 30 minutes, so the oil can soak up the flavors.
  3. Toss kale leaves in dressing. Cover and set in fridge for 20-30 minutes. Kale leaves take longer to absorb dressing flavor.
  4. Remove from fridge and add cucumber, red onion, green pepper, and parmesan. Toss.
  5. Add chili pepper. You should only need a few dashes. Toss.
  6. Smile and eat!

Leave a Reply

