Yummy!

Posted on Updated on

Living in rural China pushed my food limits. I was a vegetarian for two and half years before moving to China. I quickly learned that meatless was not an option in my village–too many pig killings, to much “多吃多吃“(eat more). I tried my best to cook my own meals, but class times often did not allow it. Apparently, excess oil and MSG leads to chronic heart burn, bloating and la duzi. Additionally, I never really got the hand of using the Chinese hot plates (electric portable stove)  that we had. They get so damn hot. It often felt like the high setting on an American stove was the low setting of a Chinese stove. I was always burning my garlic, making me perpetually unsatisfied with my dishes. Burnt garlic is the worst. In the US, I cooked every meal of the day, so this was an undesired lifestyle change.

Since I returned to the United States , my passion for cooking has exploded. I read recipes online for at least an hour a day. I can barely finish one meal without thinking about what I want to make next. Johan is forced to listen to every ingredient I use in all of my recipes.  I would feel bad for him if I didn’t think he would benefit from this passion later on. My student loans are probably the only thing stopping me from going to cooking school. So, I forge ahead with this obsession.

Food blogging has been an interest of mine for far too long for me to put it off any longer. Food is holy to me, truly. In this overworked world, food is one of the few ways for me to connect with my environment. When I wake up in the morning, I try to make this connection a positive one.

The food/body connection is a nice little cycle. When I eat well, my body rewards me with energy and says, “Thanks biotch. That was super cool of you.” When I don’t eat well, it bitches and says, “Thanks a-hole. Good luck with that heart burn today.” With a few exceptions, before deciding what I want to cook, I ask myself two questions: 1) What can I eat that ensures that my body is happy and healthy? 2) How can I eat healthy and not sacrifice flavor?

So, this is my perspective when I eat and when I post recipes. Enjoy!

My dad is in town right now. He retired last Friday, so this is a celebratory visit. For years, he has said things like, “I don’t have time to eat breakfast or lunch.” It drives me freaking insane. So, every time I see him, I am on a mission to put some healthy weight on him.

This morning I cooked him this power breakfast.

Recipe #1

Egg & Leek Corn Tortilla Wrap with Salsa and Feta

Yum Yum
Yum Yum

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup  chopped  leeks (I used the bottom portion)
  • 2 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • sprouted corn tortillas (these are healthier than regular corn tortillas)
  • goat’s milk feta (use as much as you like)
  • salsa (use as much as you like–I like it spicy)

Let’s do it:

  1. Heat a small skillet on med-high heat. While the pan is heating chop up those leeks. 
  2. Add the oil to the pan. When it starts slightly sizzling add your leeks and turn down the heat to medium. Cook leeks for 7-10 minutes. They should be translucent and fragrant.
  3. Whisk the eggs. Add almond milk. Add salt and pepper to your liking. Add the eggs to the pan with the leeks. Keep heat on medium.
  4. Occasionally shake the pan so some of the still liquid egg falls underneath on the sides.
  5. When just the center has liquid, flip the eggs over. Let cook for another minute.
  6. Warm tortillas in microwave for about 10-15 seconds.
  7. Cut the cooked egg leek patty in half and divide them between the two tortillas.
  8. Top with a tbsp. of salsa and sprinkle feta on top.
  9. Smile and eat.

I paired this with a nice mango, banana, and peach smoothie.

smoothie and wrap
smoothie and wrap

Leave a Reply

