A Different Type of Soul Food

Posted on Updated on

An amazing mentor and friend of mine gave me this poem yesterday. Ever since then, my spirits have been high. It is a mantra for women. My hip injury has left me feeling gloomy over the past two months. I have been trying my best to be happy in the US, but the limitations of my body have made it a struggle for me. This poem grounded me and reminded me of the type of woman I want to be.

Imagine a woman who believes it is right and good she is a woman.
A woman who honors her experience and tells her stories.
Who refuses to carry the sins of others within her body and life.

Imagine a woman who trusts and respects herself.
A woman who listens to her needs and desires.
Who meets them with tenderness and grace.

Imagine a woman who acknowledges the past’s influence on the present.
A woman who has walked through her past.
Who has healed into the present.

Imagine a woman who authors her own life.
A woman who exerts, initiates, and moves on her own behalf.
Who refuses to surrender except to her truest self and wisest voice.

Imagine a woman who names her own gods.
A woman who imagines the divine in her image and likeness.
Who designs a personal spirituality to inform her daily life.

Imagine a woman in love with her own body.
A woman who believes her body is enough, just as it is.
Who celebrates its rhythms and cycles as an exquisite resource.

Imagine a woman who honors the body of the Goddess in her changing body.
A woman who celebrates the accumulation of her years and her wisdom.
Who refuses to use her life-energy disguising the changes in her body and life.

Imagine a woman who values the women in her life.
A woman who sits in circles of women.
Who is reminded of the truth about herself when she forgets.

Imagine yourself as this woman.

–Patricia Lynn Reilly

Ahhh..it’s just as beautiful every time I read it. It’s so damn hard to maintain this mindset, but with some love its possible. Things like this often bring me back to food, because they make me want to treat my body well. A very simple way to show myself respect is by awakening the soul through cooking and strengthening my body by making sure that the meal is healthy. Very much of what this poem discusses is who we are at a core level, so today, I decided to go raw with my approach to food, to go back to the basics.

I did not take many pictures, because I wanted to focus on the experience, not the product.

Here it is.

Simple, yet delicious

Cucumber Carrot Corn Tortilla Wrap
with Hummus Spread

Hummus (Tahini-Free)

My best friend Anna is allergic to sesame seeds. After years of living with her, I have gotten used to making hummus this way. It’s just as tasty.

Ingredients and How to: 

  • 1 can of Garbanzo beans
  • 1 tablespoon of lemon juice
  • 1 tsp of cumin powder
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 chopped garlic glove
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Throw it in the food processor! 

***Tip: Add some herbs if you want. I like cilantro!

Cucumber Carrot Corn Tortilla Wrap

The Goods:

  • 2 small corn tortillas
  • 1/4 medium cucumber diced
  • 2 small carrots chopped
  • 2 tbsp. hummus
  • A squeeze or 2 of fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup sliced kale leaves
  • 1/4 cup feta
  • salt and pepper to taste

How to:

  1. Chop the cucumber, carrots and kale leaves
  2. Put 1 tbsp of hummus on each tortilla
  3. Split cucumber, carrots, and kale even between the 2 tortillas
  4. Add feta to both
  5. Squeeze lemon juice on top
  6. Add salt and pepper! It is good with our without this.

Leave a Reply

